A logo to support…

As of now not a single announced candidate for the Republican presidential nomination really motivates or excites me.  Four years ago I was really drawn by Rudy Giuliani.  What was it that I liked about him?  

For me there was lot to like in his policies.  The reason I ask myself why is because I never thought I’d actually support a pro-choice candidate.  Giuliani wasn’t merely pro-choice, he was pro-gun control.  He really did have something of an authoritarian streak too.  So what made me look beyond all of that?  I really was very forgiving of his pro-choice position despite myself being deeply pro-life.  

The thing that made me overlook Giuliani’s socially liberal policies was his persona:  tough, charismatic.  He really seemed like a personable individual.  The kind of fellow you would like to invite to a backyard barbecue.  You know, the whole, “who’d you like to drink a beer with?”  Well, I don’t drink but I liked Giuliani and felt that if we met he’d like me too. 

That’s what most voters look to in a candidate.  Either as the person they see themselves in or the person they’d like to be.  Really nothing wrong with that.

I remember what best exemplified this in Giuliani’s campaign was his logo, which simply read “Rudy”.  Sometimes you’d see the url for his campaign website but the “Rudy” was all you needed to see to acknowledge the candidate.  It was bold and concise.  Everything a campaign logo should be. 


As of this primary, anything like this is absent.  Most of the logos look all too commonplace.  Some look like the candidate himself did the artwork.  Totally uninspiring. 

The most attractive of the logos is Jon Huntsman‘s.  Too attractive, actually.  It really looks more appropriate for a hotel chain.  I can already imagine bath towels with the logo being sold on Huntsman’s campaign website.  

The most amatuerish of the logos are Herman Cain‘s and Newt Gingrich‘s, two candidates I actually like quite a bit.  I’m sure they could find a professional and experienced graphic designer to at least volunteer for them, right?

There could be an argument made about how a logo really can break a low tier candidate.  As well, how a very good logo could help a top tier candidate push ahead of his opponents.   

A great piece on a lot of this may be found at the NorthcoastZietgeist.com, where blogger Joseph Hughes breaks down the woeful shortcomings of each of the logos in the GOP field.  Hughes is a self-described progressive who worked on the Barack Obama campaign.  He compares each 2012 GOP campaign logo (with some healthy levels of snark) to that of Obama which he argues is itself comparable to the Apple or Nike logo.  Quite fair.  The Obama logo and campaign brand were nothing short of stunning.

Whoever the next announced candidate is, hopefully they’ll be able to take on Obama not only on ideas but on the logo too.  A candidate who’ll first and foremost motivate and excite me with their policy positions and, yes, a personal narrative.  Though a pretty logo would help a lot too. 

I’ll be waiting for her.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

